World Men's Handball Championship

The World Men’s Handball Championship is played every other year in January. For us who like handball, it is a fantastic start to the new year. On this page you can read more about the World Men’s Handball Championship and also compare odds with different betting companies.

Show more
Top #3 bookmakers for World Men’s Handball Championship
T&C apply | Min. deposit € 10 18+ | Play responsibly | New customers only | T&C apply |
T&C apply | 18+ | Play responsibly | New customers only | T&C apply |
T&C apply | Min. deposit € 10 18+ | Play responsibly | New customers only | T&C apply |

The World Men’s Handball Championship was first played in 1938 in Germany and since 1993 the tournament has been played every two years. The host countries have been mostly European with the exception of Egypt (1999 and 2021), Tunisia (2005), Qatar (2015) and Japan (1997).

The tournament is organized by the International Handball Federation (IHF) which also organizes the Handball WC for women and the competitions in the Olympics.

2021 World Men’s Handball Championship in Egypt

The 2021 edition of the Handball World Cup will be played in Egypt. For the first time ever, 32 teams participate instead of 24 as in previous tournaments. Some of the newcomers are Cape Verde, DR Congo and Uruguay.

See the full game schedule for the Handball World Cup 2021 here

European dominance in the Handball World Cup

European teams have dominated the tournament since its inception in 1938. The Soviet Union and Qatar are the only overseas countries to reach the final. When Qatar met France in the 2015 final, it was at home with a large number of “imported” players in the squad.

Most world champions in handball

The countries that have had the greatest successes historically are France, Sweden and Romania. With its 6 gold medals, France has won the World Men’s Handball Championship the most times, closely followed by Sweden and Romania with 4 gold each. The total number of medals is shared by Sweden and France with 11 medals each and has a fairly superior lead over second place Romania which has won 6 medals in total.

Previous champions in World Men’s Handball Championship

Year Host nation Gold Silver
2027 Germany ? ?
2025 Denmark, Norway and Croatia ? ?
2023 Poland and Sweden ? ?
2021 Egypt ? ?
2019 Denmark and Germany Denmark Norway
2017 France France Norway
2015 Qatar France Qatar
2013 Spain Spain Denmark
2011 Sweden France Denmark
2009 Croatia France Croatia
2007 Germany Germany Poland
2005 Tunisia Spain Croatia
2003 Portugal Croatia Germany
2001 France France Sweden
1999 Egypt Sweden Russia
1997 Japan Russia Sweden
1995 Iceland France Croatia
1993 Sweden Russia France
1990 Czechoslovakia Sweden Soviet Union
1986 Switzerland Yugoslavia Hungary
1982 West Germany Soviet Union Yugoslavia
1978 Denmark West Germany Soviet Union
1974 East Germany Romania East Germany
1970 France Romania East Germany
1967 Sweden Czechoslovakia Denmark
1964 Czechoslovakia Romania Sweden
1961 West Germany Romania Czechoslovakia
1958 East Germany Sweden Czechoslovakia
1954 Sweden Sweden Germany
1938 Germany Germany Österrike