Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament and it is played on grass. Wimbledon was founded as early as 1877 and is played at the All England Club Wimbledon, London, England.

Show more
Find the best odds on Tennis
Top #3 bookmakers for Wimbledon
T&C apply | Min. deposit € 10 18+ | Play responsibly | New customers only | T&C apply |
T&C apply | Min. deposit € 10 18+ | Play responsibly | New customers only | T&C apply |
T&C apply | 18+ | Play responsibly | New customers only | T&C apply |

Since the start in 1877, Wimbledon has grown into an event that is followed by about 500,000 people in the audience and all the more so on TV and live streams. Wimbledon is part of the four Grand Slam competitions and is played during the months of June and July. The tournament can also be called The Champions. Other Grand Slam competitions are the Australian Open, French Open and US Open.

The history behind Wimbledon

With a history that goes back to 1877, there is much to tell about this tournament and everything that has happened to date. We have selected some parts that may be interesting to take part in. From the beginning it was a croquet and tennis club and new rules were devised to play the tennis as we know it today. The first match was played on July 9, 1877 and the winner was Spencer Gore. The club got a lot of focus on this part in the coming years and they also removed the word croquet from the club name. Singles games for ladies and men’s doubles were also introduced in 1884. The ladies’ doubles and mixed doubles were added in 1913.

Wimbledon is the most traditional and prestigious competition today. It is framed by a strict dress code and is implemented with only a few visible sponsors on the playing surfaces.

If you have visited England, you know that the weather can be capricious and change quickly. This has caused some problems during Wimbledon when they had to cover the lawns with tarpaulins in the rain. That solution has also meant that the event has had to be paused until the rain or showers have stopped. During all the years this was going on, it was as part of the competition routine itself, they hoped and talked about that the forces of the weather would be involved so that they could carry out the competitions in a good way. Since 2009, however, it has been installed that roofs that can be pulled out to cover the main arena. That way, you can reduce the interruptions in the game.

Tournament layout

From the beginning, it was planned that the current champion would be challenged by the one who made it to the final. This meant that the reigning champion only needed to play a single match, which was then about defending his title, simply a win or lose match. However, this system was abolished in 1922. Another rule in Wimbledon is that you do not use tiebreak in decisive matches but instead have the rule that you must win by two paperbacks in the margin. One effect of this is that it can take a long time to find a winner as this type of game can last for several days.

Wimbledon also has a world record precisely due to this rule when in June 2010 they played the world’s longest match which lasted 11 hours and 5 minutes and was played over a full three days. The final set was 70-68 and was won by John Isner.

Strong traditions

Englishmen are very traditional in some things and that is one thing that stands out in this competition because all participants must play in completely white clothes. Another rule is that participants must bow to the royal seat if the royalties are in place.

They also indulge in strawberries and cream, which is now big business for strawberry growers who every year hope that the strawberries are ripe just in time for Wimbledon. About 35,000 kilos of strawberries are consumed during the tournament.

Long victory suites at Wimbledon

Several players can reign with long winning strikes in this tournament. Roger Federer won Wimbledon between the years 2003-2007, Björn Borg during 1976-1980, Suzanne Lenglen 1919-1923, Laurie Doherty 1902–1906, William Renshaw 1881–1886 and Martina Navratilova 1982 to 1987.

Roger Federer has taken home a total of eight Wimbledon titles.

Previous Wimbledon winners

Herrar Damer
2019 Novak Djokovic Simona Halep
2018 Novak Djokovic Angelique Kerber
2017 Roger Federer Gabriñe Muguruza
2016 Andy Murray Serena Williams
2015 Novak Djokovic Serena Williams
2014 Novak Djokovic Petra Kvitová
2013 Andy Murray Marion Bartoli
2012 Roger Federer Serena Williams
2011 Novak Djokovic Petra Kvitová
2010 Rafael Nadal Serena Williams