Australian Open

The Australian Open is an international competition included in the major Grand Slam tournaments and is played in Melbourne, Australia. This competition starts the “Grand Slam year” and is played in January and February and was founded in 1905.

The current ground is Hardcourt (Plexicushion) but the ground has changed several times over the years. They have previously played on both grass and Rebound Ace.

Show more
Find the best odds on Tennis
Top #3 bookmakers for Australian Open
T&C apply | Min. deposit € 20 18+ | Play responsibly | New customers only | T&C apply |
T&C apply | Min. deposit € 10 18+ | Play responsibly | New customers only | T&C apply |
T&C apply | Min. deposit € 10 18+ | Play responsibly | New customers only | T&C apply |

The Australian Open is one of the biggest competitions in the southern part of the globe. This tournament has been going on since 1905 and is classified as a Grand Slam, ie one of the four major Grand Slam tournaments during the year. The competition takes place on hard-court courses in Melbourne, Australia and is also the biggest Grand Slam tournament in terms of audience. A total of 812,000 people participated and watched this tournament. The competition has several names such as The Happy Slam or Grand Slam of Asia / Pacific. The prize money for the 108th edition of the competition in 2020 was a whopping 71 million Australian dollars.


The tournament has been held since 1905 but went under the name Australasian Championships. 1986 is the only year so far that the tournament has not been completed. This is because the period in which the competition was played was changed from mid-December to mid-January and thus there was no competition in 1986. Since then, the competition has had its current format.

In 1927 it was time to change the name to the Australian Championships and since 1969 the competition has its current name Australian Open.

The cities where the Australian Open is held are:

  • Melbourne
  • Sydney
  • Adelaide
  • Brisbane
  • Perth
  • Christchurch
  • Hastings

When it comes to the early years of the tournament, it was mostly Australian players as it was difficult to get to Australia to play. It simply took too long time to ride a boat for 45 days and the first time it happened was the Davis Cup player from the US who arrived in November 1946.

In fact, many of the big players simply opted out of this tournament right up to 1982 precisely because of distance as well as in some cases it was carried out around Christmas and New Year. Initially, compared to other competitions, it also had low prize money.

Some players today also want to move it so that it is implemented instead in February when they feel that they do not have time to play after the leave. However, a move would mean that the competition falls outside the regular school vacations in Australia. There are no indications today that the competition would move its dates.

Over the years, many of the arenas have been renovated and have expanded public spaces as well as provided with adjustable ceilings.

In 2018, the rules of Wimbledon and the US Open were followed and tie-breaks were introduced in the men’s and women’s finals.

Winner of the Australian Open

Given that the tournament is being held in Australia, it was difficult to travel far to participate. This also appears when you look at the results lists. Australia has been dominating for a long time but has later lost to the big international names.

Men Women
2020 Novak Djokovic Sofia Kenin
2019 Novak Djokovic Naomi Osaka
2018 Roger Federer Caroline Wozniacki
2017 Roger Federer Serena Williams
2016 Novak Djokovic Angelique Kerber
2015 Novak Djokovic Serena Williams
2014 Stanislas Wawrinka Li Na
2013 Novak Djokovic Victoria Azarenka
2012 Novak Djokovic Victoria Azarenka
2011 Novak Djokovic Kim Clijsters
2010 Roger Federer Serena Williams

Winner in single, men’s Australian Open

We can clearly see that Serbia, in the form of Novak Djokovic, has taken a predominant number of wins over the last ten years. Roy Emerson is the most successful Australian player to take 12 Grand Slam titles. Roy was active during the years 1953 to 1983. Roy has also won what is called a Career Grand Slam, which means that he has won all the Grand Slam tournaments, though not in succession.

Roy Emerson is the one to win the most number of singles wins in the Australian Open before 1969 with six.

Rod Laver is another great player from Australia who has 11 Grand Slam titles and who also managed what is called a Real Grand Slam which happened in 1962 and 1969.

Winner in single, ladies Australian Open

Until 1978, there was an Australian dominance in the results table, closely followed by the United States. Then it is empty. Australia’s ladies managed to make it to the final in 1980 through Wendy Turnbull but that didn’t go all the way.

Margaret Court has won the most titles in the women’s singles with a total of 11 pieces.

Current odds for tournament winners in Australian Open

Winner: Australian Open Women

See all odds